02 May, 2011

Sri Lanka plans to stage IPL-style tournament

Pakistan  Shahid Afridi versatility and former New Zealand skipper Daniel Vettori has been named to head both parties provincial competition Sri Lanka Premier League Twenty20 (SLPL).
Afridi is Nagenahira while left arm spinner Vettori was elected captain Uthuru, representing the northeastern provinces have been isolated from the sport because of the war three decades.

Vettori is the captain of Bangalore Royal Challengers in the IPL tournament that also features Sri Lanka star Kumar Sangakkara, Mahela Jayawardena and Tillekeratne Dilshan.
The organizers of the event, Somerert Entertainment Ventures (SEV) found a window for IPL-style tournament between tours Sri Lanka tour of England and Australia in Sri Lanka, according to the Daily Mirror.

Six national captains, four in Sri Lanka - Sanath Jayasuriya, Jayawardena, Sangakkara and Dilshan - to seven teams in the province for the next tournament.
The seventh is the former vice-captain of Sri Lanka, Chaminda Vaas. showcase Sri Lanka T20 Premier League about 35 international stars of the sport and the first of its kind in Sri Lanka.
18-day event will begin in July and will feature 24 games, including the semifinals and finals, R. Premadasa Stadium in Colombo.

Dilshan leads Basnahira, Sangakkara (Kandurata), Jayawardane (Wayamba), Jayasuriya (Ruhuna) and Vaas (UVA).

Five foreign players may be registered with the provincial team, but only four are allowed to play in the game. Sri Lanka, the selectors and national cricket authorities have agreed to blood so many young people and nearly 70 cricketers of Sri Lanka have recorded seven teams in the tournament.
Almost all Pakistani national cricketers will be invited to play in SLPL.

In addition, Chris Gayle and Bravo cousins (Dwayne and Darren) from the West Indies, the Pathan brothers (Irfan and Yousuf), India, Herschelle Gibbs, David Warner and Shaun Tait are seen as a function of the ground in Sri Lanka.

Availability of retired great Muttiah Muralitharan has not yet been confirmed, but some unconfirmed reports have revealed that he is willing to play in the series.

Milind Rege, the tournament director in 2011 Cricket World Cup will be responsible for all matters of the cricket tournament. Rege, a former Ranji Trophy captain of Mumbai and the Tata Group recently retired CEO of a committee member.

No comments:


Share |
Follow @Harendrasingh